Description of the Major Bhojs, Villages and Dhanis (Hamlets) of Morni Hills

Bhoj Balag

Bhoj Balag is one of the 14 bhojs of Morni Development Block. It has its own Panchayat. As per records of election department and records maintained under MNREGA, Bhoj Balag comprises 8 dhanis, namely, Balag बालग, Dayora दयोड़ा, Gajhan गजान, Kharog खरोग, Maadal माडल, Nathan नाथन, Rasun रसुन and Thala(pur) थला. * Its population was 491 at the time of the 2001 census and is …

Bhoj Balag Read More »

Villages of Morni

‘Villages’ in Morni area range from isolated hamlets hidden within dense forests in narrow valleys (like Kadiyani) to clusters of stone houses on a forested hill-tops (like Diyothi) to large town-sized villages (like Mandana and Jabyal). The contiguous clusters of houses typically comprise the numerous ‘Dhanis’ that are then organized into the ’14 Bhojs of Morni’. The Bhoj was …

Villages of Morni Read More »